Singapore Democratic Alliance
Perikatan Demokratik Singapura
சிங்கப்பூர் ஜனநாயக கூட்டணி
Registered: 3 July 2001
Symbol: 5-point star & 4 rings
A political umbrella conceptualised by and centred around its first leader Chiam See Tong, whose SPP was the linchpin party. Originally, it aimed to unite all opposition parties under one single banner but eventually kickstarted with only four parties, SPP, NSP, PKMS and JPS. NSP pulled out in 2007 to develop its own brand name. In 2010, Chiam invited RP to join SDA and accepted its conditions to do so but the other alliance leaders baulked at his unilateral decision. The conflict caused SPP to exit before the 2011 General Election while one of its leaders, Desmond Lim, crossed over to JPS to take over as SDA chief. In 2020, DPP, PPP, RP and Singfirst mooted the idea of joining SDA instead of registering a new alliance but the latter decided it to remain a JPS-PKMS partnership. Later, Lim announced that he would be retiring after that year's GE.
Other symbols
2001 - 2012
General Elections record
Year Seats Cand Won % Year Seats Cand Won %
2001 (SPP-NSP-PKMS) 84 13 1 27.6 2015 (JPS-PKMS) 89 6 0 27.1
2006 (SPP-NSP-PKMS) 84 20 1 32.5 2020 (JPS-PKMS) 93 5 0 23.7
2011 (JPS) 87 7 0 30.1
By-Elections record
Year Seats Cand Won %
2013 (JPS) 1 1 0 0.6