Democratic Progressive Party
Parti Demokratik Progresif
ஜனநாயக முற்போக்குக் கட்சி
Singapore United Front (f. United Front)
Barisan Bersatu Singapura
சிங்கப்பூர் ஐக்கிய முன்னணி
Registered: 16 March 1973
Symbol: Sun ● Hoe & pen
Set up by a WP splinter led by Seow Khee Leng, UF changed its name to SUF on 5 March 1982, at its ninth anniversary, to avoid confusion with UPF. In 1988, most of its members including Seow rejoined WP to combine forces and take on GRCs. Widely thought to have been dissolved, it was actually kept in the backburner. In 1990, Seow and others who had concealed their dual membership left WP again to revive SUF, quietly renaming it DPP to promote it as a new party. A father-and-son pair defied party decision to stay away from the 1997 and 2001 General Elections and were expelled in 2002. In 2013, dissident SPP leaders Benjamin Pwee and Hamim Aliyas revived DPP, although they temporarily returned to SPP for the 2015 GE by quitting DPP and rejoining after that. Pwee crossed over to SDP in 2019. Hamim took over the party and supported PPP and RP for the 2020 GE.
General Elections record
Year Seats Cand Won % Year Seats Cand Won %
1976 (UF) 69 14 0 25.3 1997 (DPP) 83 2 0 12.3
1980 (UF) 75 8 0 19.0 2001 (DPP) 84 2 0 14.3
1984 (SUF) 79 13 0 34.2
By-Elections record
Year Seats Cand Won %
1979 (UF) 2 1 0 17.4