[Singapore Elections introduces this new design for elections starting from 2001. Due to time constraints, revamp will not be extended to previous elections.]

The ruling PAP was facing one of the toughest hurdles in history just as Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong went into the GE as the PM for the final time. Singapore faced the worst economic crisis since independence.

For the first time in 38 years, a formal political umbrella emerged from the opposition. The four-party SDA was established with Chiam See Tong as its chief, consisting of the SPP he led, which was the leader party, along with NSP, PKMS and JPS.

Former WP Non-Constituency Member of Parliament J. B. Jeyaretnam, who lost his seat three months before the GE after becoming a bankrupt from failing to pay defamation damages, resigned from the party, citing disagreements with the present leadership. The sole WP MP, Low Thia Khiang, took over as secretary-general and became WP's third-generation icon.

The Electoral Boundaries Review Committee, which released its report on 17 October 2001, one day after reaching PM's Office, allowed opposition parties only a few days of preparation time and raised their ere. PM Goh defended his position, saying that holding the GE shortly after America's 9-11 would be better before an economic crisis turned worse. Four-member GRCs temporarily disappeared until 2011.

A seat had been vacated in 1999 after the conviction of PAP MP Choo Wee Khiang over commercial crimes but no by-election was held as the seat was within a GRC. Under the law, an entire electoral constituency, be it GRC or SMC, has to be vacated before a by-election is required. Another increase of the election deposit amount this time was the most significant one in history, which almost doubled.

On nomination day, the sole WP GRC team for Aljunied GRC, consisting of Dr Tan Bin Seng, Abdul Rahim Abdul Rahman, Huang Seow Kwang, James Gomez and Yaw Shin Leong, was disqualified for filing incomplete papers. Opposition parties ended up contesting one-third of the seats, the lowest proportion and second-largest number of walkover victories for PAP after the 1968 GE.

PAP achieved its third highest score among the general elections it has contested. WP's Low and SDA-SPP's Chiam retained their seats but saw their winning margins slashed from the previous GE. With these two opposition wins, one NCMP seat was offered to and accepted by Steve Chia of SDA-NSP, who became the youngest NCMP to date.

9th Parliament dissolution:
  18 October 2001, Thursday
Nomination day:
  25 October 2001, Thursday
Polling day:
  3 November 2001, Saturday
10th Parliament convention:
  25 March 2002, Monday

Parliament seats:
Walkover voters:
  1,361,617 (66.8%)
Eligible voters:
  675,306 (33.2%)
Voter turnout:
  638,903 (94.6%)
Election deposit:
  $13,000 (+$5,000)

Single Member Constituencies 5-Member Group Representation Constituencies 6-Member GRCs
Ayer Rajah SMC MacPherson SMC Aljunied GRC Jurong GRC Ang Mo Kio GRC
Bukit Timah SMC Nee Soon Central SMC Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC East Coast GRC
Chua Chu Kang SMC Nee Soon East SMC Holland-Bukit Panjang GRC Tampines GRC Marine Parade GRC
Hougang SMC Potong Pasir SMC Hong Kah GRC West Coast GRC Sembawang GRC
Joo Chiat SMC   Jalan Besar GRC   Tanjong Pagar GRC
Home Seats | Ratings | Votes