In his 1983 National Day Rally speech, Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew lamented that declining birth rates and a large number of graduate women remaining single or not marrying their intellectual equal could affect Singapore's talent pool. The PAP government launched the "Graduate Mother Scheme" with incentives for graduate women who enter into marriage. This was believed to have triggered a sharp dip in PAP's support and its vote share plummetted by more than 10% to below 70%, the biggest drop and worst results for PAP since the 1963 GE. The Electoral Boundaries Delineation Committee report of 21 May 1984 was passed on 29 June 1984, introducing seven new wards. Removed were Bukit Ho Swee, Katong and Havelock, the last of which no by-election was held after the demise of Minister Hon Sui Sen in 1983. This was the debut of PM Lee's son, Lee Hsien Loong, and retirement of PAP veterans Dr Goh Keng Swee and Ong Pang Boon. WP retained its sole Anson seat of leader J. B. Jeyaretnam with an increased majority, while SDP made its first in-road into Parliament with the victory of Chiam See Tong, who would hold his seat for the next 27 years. On 25 July 1984, the Constitution was amended to provide for Non-Constituency Members of Parliament where between three to six seats, the exact number to be decided by the President of Singapore after a GE, would be offered to unsuccessful opposition candidates with the highest percent of votes and won at least 15% if a single party wins all the seats. One NCMP seat would be subtracted for every opposition MP elected. Opposition parties dismissed the scheme as one that would mislead voters into thinking that they could have opposition MPs without voting for them. WP's M. P. D. Nair was eligible for NCMP but WP declined on his behalf, which was in turn offered to SUF's Tan Chee Kien, who also turned it down. No further offers were made. Another amendment was also made in Parliament to omit the need for electoral boundary changes to be passed as a bill.

5th Parliament dissolution: 4 December 1984 [Tue]
Nomination day: 12 December 1984 [Wed]
Polling day: 22 December 1984 [Sat]
6th Parliament convention: 25 February 1985 [Mon]

Electorate: 1,495,389
Walkover voters: 550,765 (36.8%)
Eligible voters: 944,624 (63.2%)
Voter turnout: 903,499 (95.6%)

Election deposit: $1,500

Alexandra Cairnhill Joo Chiat MacPherson Tampines
Aljunied Changi Jurong Marine Parade Tanah Merah
Ang Mo Kio Changkat Kaki Bukit Moulmein Tanglin
Anson Cheng San Kallang Mountbatten Tanjong Pagar
Ayer Rajah Chong Boon Kampong Chai Chee Nee Soon Teck Ghee
Bedok Chua Chu Kang Kampong Glam Pasir Panjang Telok Ayer
Bo Wen Clementi Kampong Kembangan Paya Lebar Telok Blangah
Boon Lay Delta Kampong Ubi Potong Pasir Thomson
Boon Teck Eunos Kebun Baru Punggol Tiong Bahru
Braddell Heights Fengshan Khe Bong Queenstown Toa Payoh
Brickworks Geylang Serai Kim Keat Radin Mas Ulu Pandan
Bukit Batok Geylang West Kim Seng River Valley West Coast
Bukit Merah Henderson Kolam Ayer Rochore Whampoa
Bukit Panjang Hong Kah Kreta Ayer Sembawang Yio Chu Kang
Bukit Timah Jalan Besar Kuo Chuan Serangoon Gardens Yuhua
Buona Vista Jalan Kayu Leng Kee Siglap
Total seats = 79