This was the electoral debut of both Goh Chok Tong, who was to become Singapore's next Prime Minister after Lee Kuan Yew, and Chiam See Tong, standing as an independent candidate, who later became a renowned opposition Member of Parliament. As the PAP government began to establish a credible track record, some opposition parties adopted a stand in closer sync with people's sentiments that no matter how good PAP was, having opposition MPs in Parliament can serve as a check-and-balance or PAP could become authoritarian after being in power for a long time. Four opposition parties, BS, SJP, PKMS and UF, formed the Joint Opposition Council to cooperate at the polls. On 23 July 1976, a bill was tabled based on the 7 May 1976 report of the Electoral Boundaries Delineation Committee. This was passed at the second reading on 3 September 1976. There would be ten new wards and six, Bras Basah, Crawford, Hong Lim, Kampong Kapor, Sepoy Lines and Stamford, would be dissolved. A seat was vacated after PAP MP Wee Toon Boon was convicted under corruption charges and resigned on 15 September 1976. His lawyer, former politician David Marshall, successfully appealed to reduce his original sentence of three years to 18 months in prison. No by-election was held as a GE was nearing and Wee's constituency was one of those that would be delineated. For the first time, election deposit increased following a new policy where the amount would be pegged to one-eighth of an MP's annual allowance. This was PAP's third clean sweep of all seats.

3rd Parliament dissolution: 6 December 1976 [Mon]
Nomination day: 13 December 1976 [Mon]
Polling day: 23 December 1976 [Thu]
4th Parliament convention: 7 February 1977 [Mon]

Electorate: 1,095,817
Walkover voters: 238,520 (21.8%)
Eligible voters: 857,297 (78.2%)
Voter turnout: 815,130 (95.1%)

Election deposit: $1,200 (+$700)

Alexandra Buona Vista Jurong MacPherson Serangoon Gardens
Aljunied Cairnhill Kallang Marine Parade Siglap
Ang Mo Kio Changi Kampong Chai Chee Moulmein Tampines
Anson Chua Chu Kang Kampong Glam Mountbatten Tanglin
Bedok Delta Kampong Kembangan Nee Soon Tanjong Pagar
Boon Lay Farrer Park Kampong Ubi Pasir Panjang Telok Ayer
Boon Teck Geylang East Katong Paya Lebar Telok Blangah
Braddell Heights Geylang Serai Khe Bong Potong Pasir Thomson
Brickworks Geylang West Kim Keat Punggol Tiong Bahru
Bukit Batok Havelock Kim Seng Queenstown Toa Payoh
Bukit Ho Swee Henderson Kolam Ayer Radin Mas Ulu Pandan
Bukit Merah Jalan Besar Kreta Ayer River Valley Upper Serangoon
Bukit Panjang Jalan Kayu Kuo Chuan Rochore Whampoa
Bukit Timah Joo Chiat Leng Kee Sembawang
Total seats = 69