This very first GE for Parliament saw the longest campaigning period ever in Singapore history and also the shortest time a legislature was convened after a GE. Following the resignations of 11 BS Members of Parliament and two BS MPs who fled Singapore to avoid arrest by the Internal Security Department, the legislature was left with only PAP MPs. An Electoral Boundaries Delineation Committee was formed to reorganize the boundaries in line with the increased population and presented its recommendations on 25 August 1967. The Parliamentary Membership Bill was then tabled on 31 October 1967 and passed on 14 November 1967 to carve out eight new wards. Southern Islands was divided into the nearby mainland wards of Jurong, Pasir Panjang and Telok Blangah in lieu of its reducing population. BS boycotted the polls on the grounds that Singapore's independence was "phoney". Most opposition parties heeded its call except for WP, which fielded candidates in former BS turfs. The chiefs of PKMS (former UMNO) Ahmad Haji Taff and SCP (former MCA) Chng Boon Eng turned up but did not file their nominations. Due to the boycott, three new records were set. Firstly, the least number of seats were contested. Secondly, it was first time PAP returned to power on nomination day. Thirdly, a single party captured all seats in the legislature. For nearly five decades, uncontested constituencies would become a significant feature in every GE.

1st Parliament dissolution: 8 February 1968 [Thu]
Nomination day: 17 February 1968 [Sat]
Polling day: 13 April 1968 [Sat]
2nd Parliament convention: 6 May 1968 [Mon]

Electorate: 759,367
Walkover voters: 674,484 (88.8%)
Eligible voters: 84,883 (11.2%)
Voter turnout: 77,952 (91.8%)

Election deposit: $500

Alexandra Delta Kampong Chai Chee Paya Lebar Tanglin
Aljunied Farrer Park Kampong Glam Potong Pasir Tanjong Pagar
Anson Geylang East Kampong Kapor Punggol Telok Ayer
Bras Basah Geylang Serai Kampong Kembangan Queenstown Telok Blangah
Bukit Ho Swee Geylang West Kampong Ubi River Valley Thomson
Bukit Merah Havelock Katong Rochore Tiong Bahru
Bukit Panjang Hong Lim Kreta Ayer Sembawang Toa Payoh
Bukit Timah Jalan Besar MacPherson Sepoy Lines Ulu Pandan
Cairnhill Jalan Kayu Moulmein Serangoon Gardens Upper Serangoon
Changi Joo Chiat Mountbatten Siglap Whampoa
Chua Chu Kang Jurong Nee Soon Stamford
Crawford Kallang Pasir Panjang Tampines
Total seats = 58