All six Municipal Commissioners whose terms were up were from PP and who won second place in the first Municipal election in 1949. Only two sought another term in their incumbent wards with the rest retiring, but while F. C. James (East) ran under the PP ticket again, S. A. Mohamed Ali (Rochore) chose the independent route. An LP Commissioner, P. J. Johnson (North), had resigned from his party and remained independent. Although only LP fielded a full slate, traditionally a PP tactic, the latter scored more victories but due to the lack of candidates, PP lost further ground with its original number of seats halved. More independent candidates emerged, with some "borrowing" a party ideology, a move that was criticised by both PP and LP leaders. Former independent Commissioner H. A. Jivabhai, unsuccessful in City under the PP ticket last year, wanted to contest his old ward as an independent again but failed to submit his nomination papers in time and was rejected after being three minutes late.

Nomination day: 6 November 1950 [Mon]
Polling day: 2 December 1950 [Sat]

Registered voters: 22,325
Voter turnout: 12,294 (55.1%)

Election deposit: $250

City East North Rochore South West
Total seats = 6