The first batch of Municipal Commissioners selected to step down were the ones who won third place in the last Municipal election earlier in the year. Independent Commissioner Ahmad Mohamed Ibrahim (Rochore) was the only retiring incumbent while the other five, including earlier independent H. A. Jivabhai (City), sought a new term under the PP ticket. They returned to their turfs except Dr S. A. Al-junied (East), who shifted to the Rochore ward. His replacement was Ms Amy Laycock, daughter and employee of lawyer John Laycock. Both PP and LP, now stronger and better-organised, fielded full slates. LP called for the end of PP's monopoly. In the end, PP won only half of the seats it contested, losing its simple majority out of 27 seats. Notably, its two women candidates and the only two women in the election won the biggest margins.

Nomination day: 7 November 1949 [Mon]
Polling day: 3 December 1949 [Sat]

Registered voters: 13,143
Voter turnout: 7,943 (60.4%)

Election deposit: $250

City East North Rochore South West
Total seats = 6