Elections for the first post-World War II MC began with the town area divided into six wards of three elected seats each, totalling 18 seats making up two-thirds of the MC. Another nine of the total Commissioners would be appointed by the British colonial authorities. At the end of the year, one elected Municipal Commissioner's term in every ward would expire on an annual basis, starting from the elected candidate in the last place, and the seat would be filled via a fresh election. Apart from the prominent PP, a new political party, LP, made its debut. Like the Legislative Council election the year before, voting was not compulsory and voters had to register. Party symbols were disallowed and every individual candidate had to ballot for one from the elections office. PP flexed its political muscles by winning most of the seats. No candidate had his or her deposit forfeited as all met the threshold of at least one-third of one-eighth of the votes.

Nomination day: 7 March 1949 [Mon]
Polling day: 2 April 1949 [Sat]

Registered voters: 8,688
Total ballots: 14,716

Election deposit: $250

Three-seat wards
City East North Rochore South West
Total seats = 18