United Progressive Kinabalu Organisation
United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation
Parti Demokratik Sabah
(English: Sabah Democratic Party)
Founded: 21 March 1994
The first version of UPKO was founded in June 1964 by a merger of UNKO, the very first political party in Sabah led by the state's first Chief Minister Fuad Stephens, and UPMO. On 16 May 1967, UPKO quit Sabah Alliance after being left out of the state coalition government by USNO and SCA but on 28 December 1967, dissolved to merge with USNO. Nearly 30 years later, two breakaway factions from PBS established PDS and PBRS, with the former led by Bernard Dompok. The defections triggered the collapse of the PBS state government, which had then held a narrow majority. The poor performance of PDS in the Sabah election in 1999 led it to expand beyond the Kadazan to the Dusun and Murut communities and assume the UPKO name. After the 2018 Malaysia General Election, UPKO was the first Sabah local party to bolt from BN to align with Warisan when the former lost control of the federal government. On 23 November 2019, leader Madius Tangau initiated a rebranding exercise to open UPKO to all Sabah ethnic groups, changing its name while retaining its acronym.
Related organisations
United National
Kadazan Organisation
United Pasok Momogun Organisation
United Pasokmomogun
Kadazan Organisation