Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku
(English: Homeland Solidarity Party)
Founded: 1 July 2016
First launched as the Sabah division of Sarawak STAR on 6 January 2012 by veteran Malaysian politician Jeffrey Kitingan. Kitingan also spearheaded United Borneo Front and a group called United Borneo Alliance, which consisted of UBF, Sarawak STAR, SAPP, USNO Baru and SNAP. On 26 June 2016, Sabah STAR became independent of its Sarawak counterpart, adopting a new name that allowed it to retain its acronym, after its hinterland party repackaged itself into a local state party. Unlike other political parties, STAR accepts both individuals and organisations as members, making it both a party and an umbrella. Since 2015, it has been part of United Sabah Alliance or Gabungan Sabah with other local parties in the state. After the 2018 Malaysia election, STAR surprisingly formed a unity state government with Sabah BN and Kitingan was made Deputy Chief Minister but the partnership quickly lost power following several defections. STAR and former Sabah BN parties, PBS and PBRS, came together to form GBS. Due to voter confusion, Sarawak STAR objected to Sabah STAR using its acronym. For a short time, "Solidariti" was used, then it settled on "STARSabah".