Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak
(English: Sarawak Native People's Party)
Founded: 17 July 1983
Dissolved: 21 October 2004
A splinter of SNAP led by Leo Moggie Irok, which broke away due to a leadership tussle. PBDS and SNAP became fellow BN component parties when the former was admitted into the coalition and both went headlong in the 1983 Sarawak state election under their own party tickets. PBDS remained within the federal BN throughout but during the schism that began with the Ming Court Affair in 1987, it allied with PBB splinter Permas under Kumpulan Maju (Progressive Group) to oppose Sarawak Chief Minister Abdul Taib Mahmud. Although KM disbanded after a failed power grab against the Sarawak BN team of PBB, SUPP and SNAP in the state election that year, PBDS joined hands with Permas again in another state election in 1991. After that election, PBDS applied to rejoin Sarawak BN but this was put on hold until 1994. On 5 December 2003, PBDS was shut down by the authorities due to an internal feud. It won an appeal to be reinstated on 12 March 2004 but was de-registered again when the dispute was not settled. The two warring factions set up PRS and Malaysian Dayak Congress, with the former admitted into BN but the latter denied registration. On 28 August 2013, MDC and SNAP remnants without a party revived the PBDS name. Initially, PBDS Baru declared itself to be BN-friendly but at the 2016 state election, announced it would henceforth oppose BN. In 2018, it joined United Borneo Alliance led by Sabah STAR, then Sarawak Baru (New Sarawak) comprising of Sarawak STAR, Teras and SWP.
Related organisation
Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru
(English: New Sarawak Native People's Party)