Independent and only woman Legislative Councillor, Mrs V. Menon, was charged in India's courts, along with her lawyer husband, for criminal breach of trust and voluntarily resigned her seat on 25 September 1952. She was later acquitted in February 1953 but did not return to politics. To date, this was the first and only unopposed victory involving a non-PAP candidate after the sole candidate, City Councillor M. P. D. Nair, filed his nomination as an independent. He was a former LP leader who was expelled by his party in March. Due to the walkover, no election symbol was assigned and polling day, which was set on 20 December 1952, did not take place. Initially, Nair refused to be sworn into office unless the demands of Naval Base Union members in that constituency were met, but later proceeded to do so.

Writ of election: 28 October 1952 [Tue]
Nomination day: 19 November 1952 [Wed]
Member swearing-in: 16 December 1952 [Tue]

Registered voters: 6,509

Election deposit: $500

Total seats = 1