The British Secretary-of-State for the Colonies approved to increase in the number of elected seats by three and the overall seats from 22 to 25. Also approved was the proposal by political parties to carve the two dual-seat municipal constituencies in line with the six municipal districts in the town area, including Balestier (North), Keppel (South), Katong (East) and Tanglin (West), and demarcate the two rural wards into three. PP's main political opponent in the municipal elections, LP, entered the legislative fray. The composition of the 16 non-elected seats remained status quo. One of the four nominated Unofficial and only woman Legislative Councillor was war heroine Mrs Elizabeth Choy, who also contested unsuccessfully in the 1950 Municipal Commission election. Two previous nominated Unofficial Councillors, Lim Yew Hock and Tan Chin Tuan, were returned by election under LP and nomination by the Chinese Chamber of Commerce respectively. Well-known Malay politician Mansoor bin Adabi, the husband of the young Dutch woman Maria Bertha Hertogh (also known as Natra binte Maarof) whose parentage controversy and a court verdict sparked a racial riot in Singapore a year ago, was slated to contest Bukit Timah as a PP candidate. However, he withdrew his nomination at the last hour for unknown reasons. The campaign manager of PP vice-chairman John Laycock was Lee Kuan Yew, a legal assistant in Laycock's law firm. Voting was again not compulsory and the privilege of only certain citizens.

Old Council dissolution: 16 February 1951 [Fri]
Nomination day: 8 March 1951 [Thu]
Polling day: 10 April 1951 [Tue]
New Council convention: 17 April 1951 [Tue]

Registered voters: 48,155
Voter turnout: 25,065 (52.1%)

Election deposit: $500

Balestier City Rochore
Bukit Timah Katong Seletar
Changi Keppel Tanglin
Total seats = 9