History of elections in Singapore began here. Only six out of 22 seats were opened to elected Legislative Councillors, which would constitute part of the Unofficial bench that included four nominated by the British-appointed Governor and one each nominated by the three commercial organisations, namely the Singapore Chamber of Commerce, Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Indian Chamber of Commerce. The remaining nine seats forming the Official bench comprised of the Ex-officio posts of the Colonial Secretary, Financial Secretary, Attorney-General, Municipal Commission President and five civil servants nominated by the Governor. The two municipal constituencies had two seats each while the two rural ones had one each. Political parties had no standard symbol and every candidate had to ballot for a unique one from the elections office. PP was the only contesting party. Voting was not compulsory and a privilege only to those classified as "British subjects", which constituted about 2% of Singapore's population of over 940,000 residents. No candidate had his or her deposit forfeited as the minimum of one-eighth or 12.5% of the votes for rural wards and half the number for two-seat wards was met by all candidates. Prominent Malay politician Sardon Haji Jubir, president of SMU, UMNO Malaya supreme council member and sitting Municipal Commissioner, was one of the elected independent candidates and served only one term before returning to the Peninsular. He later served as a minister in Malaysia, Penang's head of state and deputy president of UMNO.

Nomination day: 16 February 1948 [Mon]
Polling day: 20 March 1948 [Sat]
Council convention: 1 April 1948 [Thu]

Registered voters: 22,334
Voter turnout: 14,126 (63.2%)
Total ballots: 25,072

Election deposit: $500

Two-seat constituencies One-seat constituencies
Municipal North-East Municipal South-West Rural East Rural West
Total seats = 6