Unlike the last GE, vibrant contests returned and PAP faced challenges in nearly all seats, with UNF contesting more than half of them, the last time a single opposition force did so. Barisan reversed its boycott position and entered the fray, fuelling internal party dissent by those who disagreed with the move. WP was rejuvenated by former district judge J. B. Jeyaretnam while its former leader and ex-Chief Minister David Marshall, who had contemplated standing as an independent, was kept out of the running by a stingray wound. Former Barisan and UPP legislators, Kow Kee Seng and Ng Teng Kian, contested their previous wards but as independents. The report by the Electoral Boundaries Delineation Committee was tabled in Parliament on 19 October 1971 and passed on 31 December 1971, introducing seven new constituencies. Despite stiffer competition, PAP captured every seat in Parliament for the second time. Attributing this to the lack of credibility of opposition parties due to their wavering political manoeuvres, coupled with Singapore's progress and development despite the absence of opposition in Parliament, PAP leaders believed voters did not see a need for parliamentary diversity or irresponsible opposition, which could impede effective governance and hamstring good but unpopular decisions. Nevertheless, the topic revolving around whether it was healthy to have a one-party legislature with no alternatives was often rife in national discussions, leading Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew to float the idea of giving seats to academics of the two local universities.

2nd Parliament dissolved: 16 August 1972 [Wed]
Nomination day: 23 August 1972 [Wed]
Polling day: 2 September 1972 [Sat]
3rd Parliament opening: 12 October 1972 [Thu]

Electorate: 908,382
Walkover voters: 95,456 (10.5%)
Eligible voters: 812,926 (89.5%)
Voter turnout: 760,468 (93.5%)

Election deposit: $500

Alexandra Crawford Kallang Moulmein Siglap
Aljunied Delta Kampong Chai Chee Mountbatten Stamford
Anson Farrer Park Kampong Glam Nee Soon Tampines
Boon Teck Geylang East Kampong Kapor Pasir Panjang Tanglin
Bras Basah Geylang Serai Kampong Kembangan Paya Lebar Tanjong Pagar
Bukit Batok Geylang West Kampong Ubi Potong Pasir Telok Ayer
Bukit Ho Swee Havelock Katong Punggol Telok Blangah
Bukit Merah Henderson Kim Keat Queenstown Thomson
Bukit Panjang Hong Lim Kim Seng River Valley Tiong Bahru
Bukit Timah Jalan Besar Kreta Ayer Rochore Toa Payoh
Cairnhill Jalan Kayu Kuo Chuan Sembawang Ulu Pandan
Changi Joo Chiat Leng Kee Sepoy Lines Upper Serangoon
Chua Chu Kang Jurong MacPherson Serangoon Gardens Whampoa
Seats: 65

Previous: General Election 1968
By-Elections 1970
Next: General Election 1976