This very first GE for Parliament in post-independent Singapore saw the longest campaigning period ever in history as Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew set it at the maximum 56 days to have all relevant issues fully aired in public but also saw the shortest time for lawmakers to be sworn-in after a GE, within less than a month. Following resignations of 11 Barisan Members of Parliament and two Barisan MPs fleeing Singapore to avoid arrest by the Internal Security Department, the legislature was left with only PAP MPs. An Electoral Boundaries Delineation Committee was formed to reorganize the boundaries in line with the increased population and presented its recommendations on 25 August 1967. The Parliamentary Membership Bill was then tabled on 31 October 1967 and passed on 14 November 1967 to carve out eight new wards. Southern Islands was divided into the nearby mainland wards of Jurong, Pasir Panjang and Telok Blangah in lieu of its reducing population. Barisan boycotted the polls on the grounds that Singapore's independence was "phoney". Most opposition parties heeded its call except for WP, which fielded candidates in former Barisan turfs. A handful of independents also joined in. The chiefs of PKMS (former UMNO) Ahmad Taff and SCP (former MCA) Chng Boon Eng turned up but did not file their nominations. Four new historical records were set. Firstly, it was the first time PAP returned to power on nomination day and secondly, the first time it captured all the seats. Thirdly, the least number of seats were contested in a GE. Fourthly, Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew won with the biggest margin ever. For nearly half-century after, uncontested constituencies were a feature in every GE until 2015.

1st Parliament dissolved: 8 February 1968 [Thu]
Nomination day: 17 February 1968 [Sat]
Polling day: 13 April 1968 [Sat]
2nd Parliament opening: 6 May 1968 [Mon]

Electorate: 759,367
Walkover voters: 674,484 (88.8%)
Eligible voters: 84,883 (11.2%)
Voter turnout: 77,952 (91.8%)

Election deposit: $500

Alexandra Delta Kampong Chai Chee Paya Lebar Tanglin
Aljunied Farrer Park Kampong Glam Potong Pasir Tanjong Pagar
Anson Geylang East Kampong Kapor Punggol Telok Ayer
Bras Basah Geylang Serai Kampong Kembangan Queenstown Telok Blangah
Bukit Ho Swee Geylang West Kampong Ubi River Valley Thomson
Bukit Merah Havelock Katong Rochore Tiong Bahru
Bukit Panjang Hong Lim Kreta Ayer Sembawang Toa Payoh
Bukit Timah Jalan Besar MacPherson Sepoy Lines Ulu Pandan
Cairnhill Jalan Kayu Moulmein Serangoon Gardens Upper Serangoon
Changi Joo Chiat Mountbatten Siglap Whampoa
Chua Chu Kang Jurong Nee Soon Stamford
Crawford Kallang Pasir Panjang Tampines
Seats: 58

Previous: General Election 1963
By-Election 1965
By-Election January 1966
By-Elections March 1966
By-Elections November 1966
By-Elections 1967
By-Elections 1970
Next: General Election 1972