Following the adoption of the Rendel and McNeice Commission recommendations, the six wards in the city area consisting of 18 elected seats was carved into 32. The nine appointed seats were scrapped. Like the Legislative Assembly election of 1955, political parties were permitted to use their own standard symbol. There were several changes of alignments among the incumbent City Councillors in the last four years. Three from LP and two independents joined LF, which governed Singapore. Eight from PP switched over to the new LSP. One each from LP and PP became independent, namely S. Jaganathan and Sim Beng Seng, both whom were briefly with LF. Another two, P. R. Williams from LP and later independent, and LF Minister J. M. Jumabhoy who was elected as independent, had left the City Council. LF cooperated with the main opposition PAP. Each put up candidates in half the number of seats and avoided contesting against each other to counter the powerful LSP, which was contesting all seats. Former Chief Minister David Marshall, who had resigned from LF, established WP, which was to become a renowned opposition party. UMNO and MCA were the remaining partners in an alliance after expelling SMU for sending a candidate for the 1957 by-election. According to historical records, the pro-communists backed the two new entrants, PAP and WP. Due to this, PAP came out on top in the race, winning the most seats and all except one of its contested seats. WP also fared well in its electoral debut. A PAP-UMNO coalition was formed, which left out the trounced LF. PAP's Ong Eng Guan was elected the first Mayor in Singapore.

Nomination day: 18 November 1957 [Mon]
Polling day: 21 December 1957 [Sat]

Electorate: 504,291
Voter turnout: 165,404 (32.8%)

Election deposit: $250

Aljunied Geylang East Kreta Ayer Stamford
Anson Geylang West Moulmein Tanglin
Bras Basah Havelock Mountbatten Tanjong Pagar
Bukit Merah Hong Lim Pasir Panjang Telok Ayer
Cairnhill Jalan Besar Queenstown Telok Blangah
Crawford Kallang River Valley Tiong Bahru
Delta Kampong Glam Rochore Toa Payoh
Farrer Park Kampong Kapor Sepoy Lines Ulu Pandan
Total seats = 32