This by-election was held to fill the seat vacated by PAP Member of Parliament, N. Govindasamy, after he passed away in February that year. To prevent a three-corner fight from splitting the non-PAP vote, opposition parties came to an agreement to support one opposition candidate and the choice of WP chief J. B. Jeyaretnam was agreed upon. An independent candidate was disqualified at the close of nominations for having his name absent from the electoral register.

Writ of election: 26 April 1977 [Tue]
Nomination day: 4 May 1977 [Wed]
Polling day: 14 May 1977 [Sat]
Member swearing-in: 27 May 1977 [Fri]

Eligible voters: 18,418
Voter turnout: 17,415 (94.6%)

Election deposit: $1,200

Radin Mas

Previous: By-Elections 1970
General Election 1976
Next: By-Election July 1977
General Election 1980